Blog Tour +Review+Giveaway for This Impossible Light by Lily Myers

Published by Philomel Books Genres: Poetry, Young Adult
four-half-stars

Welcome to The Impossible Light by Lily Myers book tour! Today is my stop on the tour and I am eager to share my review for this thought-provoking book.

 

BOOK SUMMARY:

Sixteen-year-old Ivy’s world is in flux. Her dad has moved out, her mother is withdrawn, her brother is off at college, and her best friend, Anna, has grown distant. Worst of all, Ivy’s body won t stop expanding. She’s getting taller and curvier, with no end in sight. Even her beloved math class offers no clear solution to the imbalanced equation that has become Ivy s life.

Everything feels off-kilter until a skipped meal leads to a boost in confidence and reminds Ivy that her life is her own. If Ivy can just limit what she eats the way her mother seems to she can stop herself from growing, focus on the upcoming math competition, and reclaim control of her life. But when her disordered eating leads to missed opportunities and a devastating health scare, Ivy realizes that she must weigh her mother’s issues against her own, and discover what it means to be a part of and apart from her family.

AUTHOR BIO:

Lily Myers (www.lilymyerswrites.com) graduated from Wesleyan University, where she competed on the slam poetry team and won Best Love Poem at the 2013 College Unions Poetry Slam Invitational for her poem “Shrinking Women.” Lily has also written for NEDA’s youth site, Proud2BMe, and their magazine, Making Connections. She lives in Seattle, Washington. You can follow Lily on Twitter @lmyerspoetry.

MY REVIEW:

This Impossible Light is a book written in verse that deals with the heavy and not always pleasant topics of body image, eating disorders, divorce, loneliness, depression and the relationships between mothers and daughters. While reading Myer’s verses you can’t help but to be drawn into Ivy’s world, where everything is falling apart.

The summer before Ivy’s first year, her parents decide to get divorced. To make matters worse, her older brother Sky is moving out, and her best friend Anna has been distant after being away for three months in Paris. Everything seems to be going against her will, but the one thing Ivy feels she can control is her body.

Lily Myers creates a deep and haunting tale in This Impossible Light. She does not shy away from perfectly expressing those hidden moments of loneliness, pain, sadness most people never show to those around them. As well as the struggles of those suffering/dealing with depression and especially eating disorders go through. How every day they must wake up to face those same demons over and over again, while at the same time, those closest to them have no idea anything is wrong. It is so sad, but so brutally true.

Through the elegant and powerful verse of This Impossible Light we are told Ivy’s story. We see her journey and struggles and (thankfully) her process towards recovery with help from her family and friends. I am so glad that the author focused only on Ivy. Myers did not feel the need to  “throw in” any romantic situations. I feel if she had done so it might have distracted the reader from the truth of the story.

This Impossible Light filled me with a variety of feelings, and gave me so much to think about and process. While never in the same situation as Ivy, my past self can completely relate to some of the darkness she feels. If you are looking for puffy clouds and unicorns, this is not the book for you. Your heart will hurt, your eyes will tear up, and breaks will be needed, but at least you will come out at the end of reading this book with your spirits lifted and most importantly with a feeling of hope (so hang in there).

Thank you to Philomel Books at Penguin Books for providing me with an ARC of This Impossible Light by Lily Myers in return for an honest review.

FOLLOW THE TOUR:

June 5 – YA Wednesdays – Spine Poetry

June 6 – Quiet in the Chaos – Review

June 7 – The Book Wars – Review

June 7 – Bookworm Everlasting – Review & Photograph

June 8 – ButterMyBooks – Book Look

June 9 – The Plot Bunny – Review

GIVEAWAY:

Enter for a chance to win one (1) of five (5) copies of This Impossible Light by Lily Myers (ARV: $17.99 each).

a Rafflecopter giveaway

NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Enter between 12:00 AM Eastern Time on June 5, 2017 and 12:00 AM on June 12, 2017.  Open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 13 and older. Winners will be selected at random on or about June 15, 2017. Odds of winning depend on number of eligible entries received. Void where prohibited or restricted by law.

four-half-stars

Blog Tour: Dragons Love Tacos 2: The Sequel written by Adam Rubin and illustrated by Daniel Salmieri

Published by Penguin Genres: Children's Books, Children's Picture Book, Humor
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Hello everyone and welcome to the Dragons Love Tacos 2: The Sequel Blog Tour. Today is my stop on the tour and I decided to share a fun playlist I put together inspired by the story and all the different scenarios that happen to our taco-loving friends as they go back in time to try and save the tacos from extinction. In the first book, Dragons Love Tacos, we find out all about what types of tacos Dragons love to eat, and what never to feed them.  Check out my review and easy chicken taco recipe here.

 

DRAGONS LOVE TACOS 2 SUMMARY:

Our dragons’ favorite snack is in danger of going extinct in this laugh-out-loud, time-traveling sequel to the New York Times bestseller Dragons Love Tacos.

Listen, don’t freak out, but I have some terrible news: There are no tacos left anywhere in the entire world! That’s a huge problem because, as you know, dragons love tacos. We’ve got to do something! I know, let’s fire up that time machine in the garage and go back in time, to before tacos went extinct. Then we can grab lots of tacos and bring them back with us. Just be sure you don’t grab any tacos with spicy salsa. You remember what happened last time…

 

ABOUT ADAM RUBIN:

Adam Rubin is the New York Times best-selling author of a half dozen critically-acclaimed picture books including Secret Pizza Party and Robo-Sauce. He spent ten years working as a creative director in the advertising industry before leaving his day job to write full time. Adam has a keen interest in improv comedy, camping and magic tricks.

 

ABOUT DANIEL SALMIERI:

Daniel Salmieri has illustrated many fantastic picture books, including the New York Times bestseller Robo-Sauce. He grew up in Brooklyn, New York, constantly drawing and painting images of ninja turtles, dinosaurs, and fighter jets (not in the same scene…), and graduated from the University of the Arts in Philadelphia. He lives in Brooklyn, New York.

 

MY PLAYLIST: Inspired by the illustrations and the many different time traveling scenarios from the story, I have put together the following playlist. You can find it also on Spotify.

 

  1. Radioactive- Imagine Dragons (It wouldn’t be right not to include something with or by Dragons…)
  2. Sombras- Quando Tu Te Hayas Ido (“When you have gone”)- Ligia Camara (a little sad song for mourning the tacos possible extinction)
  3. The Safety Dance – Men without Hats (something a little more fun, and uplifting for time-travel)
  4. Daylight – Matt and Kim (Time machine travel music)
  5. Salsa & Choke – ChocQuibTown, Nejo (Because spicy salsa should be kept from dragons at all costs)
  6. La Bamba – Los Lobos (Because things get a little).
  7. Happy – Pharrell Williams (When we finally rescue some tacos)
  8. Howlin For You – The Black Keys (What I think dragons would do if they couldn’t find tacos…they would howl and howl).
  9. Yo Quiero (“ I Want”) – Gente De Zona, Pitbull (We made it back in one piece and with a taco to spare)
  10. Best Day of My Life – American Authors (HOORAY!!! We SAVED the Tacos and the Dragons are so very Grateful. TACO PARTY TIME!!!! )

 

I hope you enjoy my playlist and make sure to pick up your very own copy of the delightful and fun Dragons Love Tacos 2: The Sequel.

Thank you Penguin Books for providing me with a finished copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

ENTER THE GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Enter for a chance to be one (1) grand prize winner and receive a set of Dragons Love Tacos and Dragons Love Tacos 2 (ARV: $17.99 each), or to be one (1) of five (5) second place winners to receive Dragons Love Tacos 2 (ARC: $17.99 each).

NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Enter between 12:00 AM Eastern Time on May 1, 2017 and 12:00 AM on May 29, 2017.  Open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 13 and older. Winners will be selected at random on or about June 2, 2017. Odds of winning depend on number of eligible entries received. Void where prohibited or restricted by law.

 

 

FOLLOW THE TOUR

Week One:

May 1 – In Wonderland – Jane Austen Taco Hunt

May 2 – The Children’s Book Review – Review

May 3 – A Homeschool Mom – Tacos in the Renaissance

May 4 – Inspiration Laboratories – Tacos in Space

May 5 – Ali’s Book Nook – Dragon Paper Doll Activity

 

Week Two:

May 8 – The Book Nut – Tacos in Ancient Greece

May 9 – A Story A Day – Tacos During the Civil War

May 10 – Pirates n’ Pixie Dust – Taco Pirates

May 11 – Margie’s Must Reads – Review

May 12 – My Little Poppies

 

Week Three:

May 15 – Super Mommy to the Rescue

May 16 – As They Grow Up

May 17 – YA Book Nerd

May 18 – Swoony Boys Podcast – Review & Mini Swoon

May 19 – The Plot Bunny – A Dragons Love Tacos Playlist

 

Week Four:

May 22 – Reading is Better with Cupcakes – How to Properly Eat a Taco

May 23 – No BS Book Reviews

May 24 – Mundie Kids –Time Travelling with a Dragon Checklist

May 25 – The Book Shire

May 26 – Artsy Momma

 

five-stars

Book Review: Dragons Love Tacos by Adam Rubin, illustrated by Daniel Salmieri

by Adam Rubin, Daniel Salmieri
Published by Penguin Genres: Children's Books
Goodreads
five-stars

“Dragons love tacos. They love chicken tacos, beef tacos, great big tacos, and teeny tiny tacos. So if you want to lure a bunch of dragons to your party, you should definitely serve tacos. Buckets and buckets of tacos. Unfortunately, where there are tacos, there is also salsa. And if a dragon accidentally eats spicy salsa… Oh, boy. You’re in red-hot trouble.”

Who ever knew Dragons loved tacos so much? Clearly the authors of this hilarious and entertaining book do. They share their expertise on throwing the best taco party on the block and what dragons will expect. Most importantly, they tell us that dragons do NOT like spicy salsa. In fact, there will be all sorts of trouble if a dragon eats spicy salsa. So make sure to hide it, better yet bury it if you can.

This entertaining and fun story is filled with dragons of all kinds, the vivid and bold illustrations are sure to grab your attention. Readers will find something new and unexpected happening on every page, so even the shortest of attention spans can be remain engaged. Young readers will delight in the silliness and be inspired to throw their own Dragon taco party.

If you love dragons, tacos, and parties, you need to read this book! Just make sure to keep the spicy salsa hidden…in case any dragons drop by.

 

Are you ready to make your own delicious tacos? Try out my yummy and healthy recipe (little dragons and big dragons alike will love it!)

 

Sticky and Sweet Lime and Honey Chicken Tacos

Sweet and Sticky Lime Chicken Thighs – An easy and quick one skillet meal including sticky, tender and delicious chicken thighs rubbed with a homemade spice rub and brushed with an amazingly sweet lime honey sauce.

 

Ingredients

FOR THE SPICE RUB

  • 1 teaspoons, or to taste, paprika (optional)
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ⅛ teaspoon ground black pepper

FOR THE HONEY SAUCE

  • ⅓ cup honey
  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • ½ of a Fresh squeeze lime

FOR THE CHICKEN

  • 1 tablespoon virgin olive oil
  • 6 to 8 boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • green onions, for garnish

FOR TACOS

  • Whole wheat soft tortillas (medium size)
  • 6 to 8 boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • green onions
  • grated lime rind (for a citrus kick/garnish)
  • shredded lettuce for topping
  • sour cream (to drizzle on top of lettuce)

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 375F.
  2. Place skillet or grill pan over medium high heat with olive oil.
  3. Combine the spice rub ingredients and mix until thoroughly combined Rub the chicken with the prepared spice rub and toss to coat (if you like you can let this marinate for a few hours before you cook it).
  4. Add chicken to skillet and cook for 5 minutes on each side, or until browned.
  5. Prepare the honey sauce by combining honey and apple cider vinegar and lime juice; stir until well incorporated.
  6. Remove chicken from heat and pour honey sauce over the chicken thighs, turning to coat.
  7. Bake in over for 25 to 30 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through.
  8. Remove from oven and let stand couple minutes.
  9. Cut chicken into slices
  10. Place whole wheat soft tortilla on plate, place chicken on the tortilla and garnish with green onions, shredded lettuce and a drizzle of sour cream (you can also top off with your favorite salsa).
  11. Serve and ENJOY!

 

About The Authors:

Adam Rubin is the New York Times best-selling author of a half dozen critically-acclaimed picture books including Secret Pizza Party and Robo-Sauce. He spent ten years working as a creative director in the advertising industry before leaving his day job to write full time. Adam has a keen interest in improv comedy, camping and magic tricks.

Daniel Salmieri has illustrated many fantastic picture books, including the New York Times bestseller Robo-Sauce. He grew up in Brooklyn, New York, constantly drawing and painting images of ninja turtles, dinosaurs, and fighter jets (not in the same scene…), and graduated from the University of the Arts in Philadelphia. He lives in Brooklyn, New York.

 

BREAKING NEWS!

Now, I’m not sure you’ve heard, but the tacos are becoming extinct! We need your help to save them (and to keep the dragons happy and the parties coming). We all must do our part to #SavetheTacos! You can help by pre-ordering Dragons Love Tacos 2: The Sequel.

To help us save the tacos, Penguin Kids is sending everyone who pre-orders Dragons Love Tacos 2 a bumper sticker and entering them to win the Ultimate Taco Party gift basket!

 

And if that’s not enough, you can enter to win a Dragons Love Tacos Book and Toy Set!

NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Enter between 12:00 AM Eastern Time on April 3, 2017 and 12:00 AM on May 1, 2017.  Open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 13 and older. Winners will be selected at random on or about May 5, 2017. Odds of winning depend on number of eligible entries received. Void where prohibited or restricted by law.
 
TOUR SCHEDULE:

Week One:

April 3 – Pirates n’ Pixie Dust – Taco Scavenger Hunt

April 4 – Margie’s Must Reads – Review + Recipe

April 5 – A Story a Day – Review + Taco Craft

April 6 – The Book Shire

April 7 – Swoony Boys Podcast – Recipe + Taco Craft

 

Week Two:

April 10 – Ali’s Book Nook – Review + Recipe

April 11 – Mundie Kids – Review + Taco Party Checklist

April 12 – The Children’s Book Review – When You Invite a Dragon to Dinner…

April 13 – Reading is Better with Cupcakes – A World Without Tacos?!

April 14 – My Bookbloom – Review + Taco Activity

 

Week Three:

April 17 – As They Grow Up – Review

April 18 – The Book Nut – Taco Soup Recipe

April 19 – YA Book Nerd – Missing Taco Hunt

April 20 – Inspiration Laboratories – Dragons Love Tacos Birthday Party

April 21 – In Wonderland – Review + Taco Salad Recipe

 

Week Four:

April 24 – A Homeschool Mom – Review + Chili Pepper Experiment

April 25 – The Plot Bunny – Review + Recipe

April 26 – No BS Book Reviews – Taco Craft

April 27 – My Little Poppies – Review

April 28 – Happily Ever Elephants – Review

five-stars

Book Review: Doctor Who / Mr. Men Series by Adam Hargreaves

by Adam Hargreaves
Published by BBC Children's Books, Penguin on April 25th, 2017
Genres: Children's Books
Goodreads
five-stars

Calling all Doctor Who fans! There is a new and super adorable new series that mashes up Doctor Who with the classic works of Roger Hargreaves Mr. Men series. If you are anything like me as a child, you fondly remember reading those little white books with their colorful little people; with such titles as Mr. Nosey, Mr. Tickles, and Miss Magic to name a few.

Now a new collection, done by Mr. Hargreaves’s son Adam in collaboration with the BBC is coming out on April 25th. While the books have the same bold and colorful illustrations and the Mr. Men/Little Miss Series, it also features inside jokes for fans of the show. This new series will feature the first, fourth, eleventh, and twelfth Doctors, with more Doctors to come later in August.

While reading these little books I could not help but feel nostalgia for one of my favorite childhood authors, and also for the Doctor Who series too. I loved how Adam Hargreaves was able to capture the essence of the Doctor in each of these little books. You’ll also get an assortment of villains too from Weeping Angels, Zygons, Cyber Man, Daleks and even Missy. But not to worry, none of it is scary and most of it will make you laugh from the total silliness of it all.

 

I felt like a little kid again, giggling at the funny illustrations and the overall cuteness of these books. I highly recommend them to all fans of Doctor Who and Hargreaves, and more so to young readers looking for wonderfully silly and imaginative stories.

 

 

You can pre-order these books on Penguin’s website, or on Amazon (or here and here, for UK readers).

 

Thank you to Penguin Random House for providing me with advance copies of the first four books in the series in exchange for an honest review. #PRHpartner

 

five-stars